Posted in Self- improvement

Do Good People Get the Worst Deal?

A small woman is driving at night and sees a big man hitchhiking trying to get her to stop. A Good Samaritan would be tempted to stop and help. A smart good person would consider the possible consequences before taking any action.

What do I know about this man? He is tall and big. He has money or law problems, otherwise he would be in his own car, on the bus or on the plane. He can overpower me in a second, take my money, take my car, throw me out on the street, rape or kill me. Do not put others in a position where they might get tempted to do a bad thing.

I am not saying we should not help others. The big man in the example above will eventually get help from somebody who can handle the situation better, perhaps a police officer, or a kind trucker. Know your limitations. We all can be helpful by volunteering with charities, donating money, helping coworkers, neighbors, church. We can be polite, courteous, give love.

We are our own worst enemies; we constantly sabotage ourselves. Remember the time, driven by greed, you embarked on that “get rich fast” scheme and lost all your money? Or remember that time your friend convinced you to try some fun drug? You could have just said – NO, this is not the right thing to do. Smart people learn on mistakes of others. The majority of us have “life teachers” and we learn the lessons the hard way.

There are many temptations; the fact is sooner or later we all pay for our actions. Train your brain to do the right thing. Start with small things like coming to work early/before your start time, gradually challenging yourself to harder things like always being respectful with everybody. If you do the right thing nobody can harm you or take advantage of you. If you are unsure what is the right thing to do in the given situation, refrain from taking any actions until you have more information.

Author:

Hi, my name is Julia Adams, writing is my passion. I admire great masters of literature like Franz Kafka and his work “The Metamorphosis”, Voltaire and his triumph “Candide”. I wish I could be more like them! Writing is an art. I write to entertain, to make the reader stop and think. I write to explore our community, our world together.

Leave a Reply

