Posted in Health

Caffeine Can Help You Fight Cold

Let’s prevent diseases before they strike hard. I am for healthy eating (food is our medicine), active life style and simple home remedies. When it comes to fighting cold, I have one effective recipe – rinse your mouth and throat with salty water as soon as you begin to have headache or sore throat, and eat some fresh garlic.

Few days ago, I added a new remedy to combat cold – coffee. I am not a big coffee drinker. Usually I drink one cup of coffee a day (no sugar), 3-4 times a week. Two days ago, when I felt I was coming down with a cold I did not rely on my usual method of fighting cold, instead I drank extra cup of coffee. To my amazement, the cold was gone the next morning.

The common cold cause symptoms such as a runny nose, coughing, sneezing and sore throat, for up to two weeks. To prevent colds the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommends good hand hygiene and keeping a distance from people with upper-respiratory infections. Once you have a cold, rest, hydration and over-the-counter medications may help reduce symptoms and expedite your recovery. If your symptoms are severe, seek medical guidance.

According to Dr. Keri Peterson, drinking coffee when you have cold is good for you. Coffee is loaded with antioxidants and helps to boost immune system. Caveat, if you regularly consume more than two cups of coffee a day this remedy may not work for you. In addition, sugar may exacerbate the cold. Consuming more than two cups of coffee a day will have diuretic effect and you will get dehydrated.

Author:

Hi, my name is Julia Adams, writing is my passion. I admire great masters of literature like Franz Kafka and his work “The Metamorphosis”, Voltaire and his triumph “Candide”. I wish I could be more like them! Writing is an art. I write to entertain, to make the reader stop and think. I write to explore our community, our world together.

Leave a Reply

