Posted in Community

Meet the Neighbors: John Byrns

IMG_0456

Do we know all the wonderful people in our community, do we even know our neighbors? I am lucky to have John as my friend. He is caring, honest, giving… and there is always something to learn from a good conversation. John graciously agreed to give me this interview.

Question: If you saw a beautiful woman at the bar would you come up to introduce yourself?

John: Absolutely. It doesn’t hurt to approach a woman to introduce yourself. The worst that can happen is – she won’t be interested.

Question: What is your favorite place in Naples to hang out?

John: South Street bar and grill. They have great food and i grew up in Philadelphia. That’s where they got their name and the old owners are from.

Question: When you meet someone for the first time how soon do you ask them – what do you do for work?

John: I ask him within an hour. It’s a good opener.

Question: What do you do for work?

John: Manager of “Friendly Frankies’ Liquor”.

Question: Do you think you are fulfilled in your professional career?

John: Probably not yet. I would like to advance further in the liquor field.

Question: Do you volunteer with the community? Have you considered volunteering?

John: I volunteer at the animal shelter off the Airport Rd

Question: Did you vote in the last presidential election?

John: Yes, of course.

Question: What do you think is the biggest challenge facing our country today (USA)?

John: Racism.

Question: What do you think is the biggest challenge facing our community (Collier county)?

John: Trying to keep Naples historic without too much construction and overpopulation.

Question: Have you ever voted for a local official?

John: Yes, but sometimes I wish I had more information on candidates.

Question: What do you think about big chain stores like Walmart being able to sell liquor in their stores and how would this affect small business?

John: Without the family stores the history of the area diminishes. I am not sure how this would affect the local economy and jobs. Probably not for the better.

Author:

Hi, my name is Julia Adams, writing is my passion. I admire great masters of literature like Franz Kafka and his work “The Metamorphosis”, Voltaire and his triumph “Candide”. I wish I could be more like them! Writing is an art. I write to entertain, to make the reader stop and think. I write to explore our community, our world together.

Leave a Reply

